Mohun Bagan Football Clun

Whose the winner of I-League for 2019-2020

Image source:

After the announcement of a nationwide lockdown in India for controlling the outbreak of Coronavirus Pandemic was made, there were several decisions made regarding the sports tournaments and other ongoing events. It was decided to suspend the ongoing I-league as a quick response to the current scenario in the country. The panel of I-league held a meeting via video conference and recommended the All India Football Federation (AIFF) committee to not resume the I-league in the light of nationwide lockdown. The committee also confirmed the cancellation of all the remaining 28 matches along with announcing the winner.

The confirmation came after the committee decided that the 2019-2020 season to be concluded and declared Mohun Bagan club to be the Hero I-League Champion for the season 2019-2020. Mohun Bagan club was already standing at the top position with 39 points from 16 matches and as the club stood first on the day of suspension 14th March 2020, the committee decided to declare Mohun Bagan as the winner of this season.

It is the second time victory for the Kolkata giants Mohun Bagan Club in five years for I-League. The club succeeded in beating the competitor Aizawl FC with 1-0 in their last match. There was quite a competition seen among East Bengal, Minerva Punjab and Real Kashmir. While both East Bengal and Minerva Punjab had 23 points from 16 matches, Real Kashmir was with 22 points in 15 matches.

Mohun Bagan club had put up their ace game in the league and it showed in this season. The All India Football Federation (AIFF) also said there would be no relegation into the second division this time.

About the author

Priyanka Ramrakhiani

Priyanka Ramrakhiani

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *