Team India at ICC Women’s T-20 World Cup, a fairy tale journey

It has been more than a decade since the India men’s national cricket team won the first-ever ICC men’s T20 World Cup in the year 2007. 13 years later, we fast forward to 2020, the India women’s national cricket team participated in the seventh edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup held in Australia.

Team India was placed in Group A. The other teams in the group were, the host nation and defending champions Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. India was unbeaten in the group stage which helped them top their group and march into the semi-finals.

They stunned the host nation and the defending champions Australia defeating them by 17 runs in the first match of the tournament. India batted first and scored just 132 runs. Leg-spinner, Poonam Yadav then bowled a magical spell in her comeback game to steer India to a comfortable 17-run win over defending champions Australia.

Following that, India registered a comfortable victory over Bangladesh. Poonam Yadav, once again spun a web around the opposition batters as she finished with 3 wickets to help India beat Bangladesh by 18 runs.

In their third match, they faced New Zealand. The Indian spinners once again tormented the opposition as India beat New Zealand in a thrilling contest to cement a semi-final berth with their third straight win in the World Cup. India had managed to put just 133 on the scoreboard in 20 overs but their spinners rose to the occasion to defend the total.

Next stop was Sri Lanka. Shafali Verma scored a blistering 34-ball 47 after spinner Radha Yadav’s career-best 4/23 which powered India to a seven-wicket victory over Sri Lanka in the Women’s T20 World Cup. The victory helped India enter the semi-finals with an all-win record.

The first semi-final match, supposed to be held between India and England was washed away by rain. By virtue of being the group toppers, India entered their maiden Women’s T20 World Cup final.

The final was held between India and Australia. Australia batting first had put up a target of 184 runs in 20 overs. The Indian batting collapsed for 99 runs. Australia won by 85 runs and was crowned champions once again. Nonetheless, India’s story in the tournament was no less than a fairy tale. Each and every player emerged as a legend and will be remembered forever for their achievement in the tournament.

About the author

Antriksh Jaiswal

Antriksh Jaiswal

Antriksh is the editor-in-chief at India In Sports who believes in creating a positive difference in society through the medium of sports.

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *