Khel Ratna Nominee Rohit Sharma and Arjuna Award Nominee Shikhar Dhawan
Image Source: DNA India

List of Nominees for Khel Ratna and Arjuna Award 2020

The Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) gave out the list of players nominated for various awards, including Khel Ratna and Arjuna Award, on Saturday. The announcement came in after seeing the records of the players and the list has undoubtedly made a lot of sports fans happy all over the country.

Nominations by BCCI for Khel Ratna and Arjuna Award 2020

Rohit Sharma was nominated for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, whereas Shikhar Dhawan, Ishant Sharma and Deepti Sharma have got the nominations for the prestigious Arjuna award.

Rohit Sharma’s nomination for Khel Ratna 

The president of BCCI Saurav Ganguly said that Rohit Sharma has set quite some records and benchmarks in cricket as batman. He has shown his true capability by making the scores in different formats that were out of imagination for many. Honoring him with Khel Ratna award is a testament for his overall leadership skills, commitment, form and consistency he has shown in his game throughout. Rohit Sharma is also the first among many to score four centuries in T20. 

Shikhar Dhawan nominated for Arjuna Award

Shikhar Dhawan was nominated for the Arjuna award in 2018 but missed it. He holds the record of making the fastest century in a Test debut. Dhawan is also the first batsman who has won two consecutive golden bats for scoring the maximum runs in the ICC Champions trophy. 

Ishant Sharma’s nomination for Arjuna Award

Ishant Sharma was one of the youngest Indian players to play and represent the country in all three forms of game. He is known for his unique bowling style and also holds a record for taking the most number of wickets.

Deepti Sharma nominated for Arjuna Award

BCCI went ahead with Deepti Sharma in the women’s category for her consistency in the ODIs and T20Is for three years. Sharma is an all-rounder and her performance has been praised nationwide in all the games. She is also the first and only Indian spinner to take six WODI wickets.

All the nominees have achieved and made their place in Indian cricket. Be it Rohit Sharma’s leadership, Ishant Sharma’s performance, Dhawan’s unique approach and Deepti Sharma’s consistency; the nominations have been done rightly to acknowledge the efforts of our country’s sports players and their commitment towards it.

Previously AITA also announced its list for Arjuna Award 2020

About the author

Priyanka Ramrakhiani

Priyanka Ramrakhiani

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *