Rohit Sharma during an ODI match.
Rohit Sharma during an ODI match.

Khela Ratna is a huge motivation for Rohit Sharma

India’s fierce opening batsman, Rohit Sharma is elated to receive the prestigious Khel Ratna Award. The Khel Ratna is India’s highest sporting honour given to exceptional athletes in different fields.

Rohit Sharma’s motivation

Sharma said that it is a big motivating factor for him to be recognised by his country. His contribution to Indian cricket is unmatched and has many international records to his name. Rohit wants to keep making his country proud. He is on a mission to bring happiness and joy in people’s lives.

He further said that he is happy and privileged to get the Khel Ratna. Rohit thanked the Sports Minster and the Board of Control for Cricket India. He has promised to keep working hard and will continue to get laurels for the country.

Rohit is only the fifth Indian cricketer to be given the Khel Ratna. Past cricketer awardees include Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli. Sharma said that joining this elite list is a matter of great honour. These men have revolutionised cricket in India and have achieved greater things for the country.

Rohit is one of the five awardees of the Khel Ratna. Other athletes include Mariyappan T (Paralympian), Vinesh Phogat (Wrestling), Manika Batra (Table Tennis and Rani Rampal (Hockey).

Rohit thanked his fans, his family and his support system. He said that it would have not been possible without them. He further asked everyone to keep supporting the Indian team.

Increase in National Sports Awards prize money

Youth Affairs and Sports Minister announced that the prize money for the National Sports Awards has been enhanced. Khel Ratna prize money has been increased to 25 lakhs from 7.5 lakhs. Arjuna Award to 15 lakhs from 5 lakhs. Dronacharya Award (Lifetime) prize money will be 15 lakhs from 5 lakhs. Whereas the Dronacharya Award (Regular) money will be 10 lakhs up from 5 lakhs. Dhyanchand Awardees will also receive 10 lakhs.

Kiren Rijiju said that even sportsperson deserves an increase in their earning just like any other profession. The last time when the prize money was reviewed was in 2008. He has also suggested that the prize money needs to be reviewed once every 10 years.       

About the author

Antriksh Jaiswal

Antriksh Jaiswal

Antriksh is the editor-in-chief at India In Sports who believes in creating a positive difference in society through the medium of sports.

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *