Ankita Raina Arjuna Award 2020 Nominee
Ankita Raina reacts after winning a point in the Fed Cup.

Here are AITA’s Arjuna Award 2020 Nominees

All India Tennis Association (AITA) has decided to nominate Ankita Raina and Divij Sharan for the Arjuna Award 2020 this year. Both the players are in sublime form and have had a few good outings at the national and international circuit in recent times. The national body is also planning to send Nandan Bal’s name for the Dhyan Chand award.

Ankita Raina’s Golden Performances for Arjuna Award 2020

Ankit Raina, at the 2018 Jakarta Games had brought home a women’s singles bronze medal. The 27-year old put up a few clinical performances in the Fed Cup this year which helped India to qualify for the World Group play-offs. This was for the very first time that the team qualified for Fed Cup’s World Group play-offs. Ankita grabbed eyeballs with some stellar performances at the prestigious tournament. In five days she played eight matches where she won two singles and three important doubles games pairing with Sania Mirza.

She has been India’s number one singles player in the WTF and ITF circuit from quite some time now. Raina has also won six titles at $ 25,000 level. As of March 2020, she attained a career-best ranking of 160.

Such prolific performance has nominated her for Arjuna Award 2020.

Divij Sharan’s Fantastic Year

Divij Sharan who was part of 2018 Jakarta Asian Games contingent had clinched a gold medal in the men’s doubles category. He ably combined with Rohan Bopanna to put up a fantastic performance throughout the tournament. He was India’s top player in the doubles category until October 2019 before Bopanna took over.  The Delhi-lad had a successful 2019 having bagged two ATP titles – Tata Open Maharashtra in Pune partnering Bopanna and at St. Petersburg partnering Igor Zelenay.

All India Tennis Association (AITA) secretary-general, Hironmy Chaterjee said that both are eligible and deserving candidates for the prestigious award. They will go on to recommend the two players’ nomination. Rohan Bopanna was the last tennis player to be given the Arjuna Award in 2018.

We hope that both, Ankita Raina and Divij Sharan bag Arjuna Award 2020.

AITA’s is still contemplating about Nandan Bal’s nomination for the Dhyan Chand Award. Bal is a former Davis Cup player and played between 1980 – 1983. Later, he served as the coach of India’s Davis Cup team. From the Indian tennis fraternity, only three players have received the Dhyan Chand Award – Nitin Kirtane (2009), Zeeshan Ali (2014) and SP Misra (2015).   

About the author

Antriksh Jaiswal

Antriksh Jaiswal

Antriksh is the editor-in-chief at India In Sports who believes in creating a positive difference in society through the medium of sports.

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *